42 Years of Care and Ensuring No One Fights Alone!

Meet Our 2016 Scholarship Recipients!

Neurofibromatosis Midwest is proud to announce our seventeen scholarship recipients for the 2016-2017 academic year. Now in its second year, our scholarship program was launched with funds from a charitable trust left to NF Midwest by Frances and Irma Napolilli. The program awards $1,000 scholarships to students from our service area who are diagnosed with NF and are pursuing their undergraduate education. Applications are scored based on demonstrated drive to succeed despite the challenges associated with living with NF, and aspects such as academic record, community service, and teacher recommendations are also considered.

We were able to award a lot of scholarships this year but our ability to do so in the future is limited by the support of our wonderful donors. We need YOUR donations! Your donations to NF Midwest can always be directed to be used for the Scholarship Program – will you make one today?

Our 2016 scholarship recipients were:

Andrea Alcantar, Chicago, Illinois. She is studying Political Science at Northern Illinois University.

Elizabeth Biever, O’Fallon, Missouri. She is studying to be a Family and Consumer Sciences teacher at Missouri State University.

Bernice Blockton, Florissant, Missouri. She is studying Children’s Ministry at Saint Louis Christian College.

Anna Cullen, West Union, Iowa. She is studying English-Creative Writing at Northeast Iowa Community College.

Erik Geiman, Fort Thomas, Kentucky. He is studying Architectural Science at Western Kentucky University.

Maria Gonzalez, Bridgeview, Illinois. She is studying Communicative Disorders/Audiology at Northern Illinois University.

Kyra Gray, East Troy, Wisconsin. She is studying Special Education-Emphasis in Intellectual Disabilities at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

Emily Jones, Valparaiso, Indiana. She is studying Early Childhood Education at Purdue North Central.

Sabrina Jones, Burnham, Illinois. She is studying Psychology at the University of Illinois at Springfield.

Hallie Martin, Libertyville, Illinois. She is studying Special Education at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh.

Tyler Mooney, Ottawa, Illinois. He is Psychology at the Illinois Valley Community College.

Paris Patrick, Watseka, Illinois. She is studying Early Childhood Education at Olivet Nazarene University.

Jenna Pederson, Carol Stream, Illinois. She is studying Creative Writing at the College of DuPage.

Will Simon, Lansing, Illinois. He is studying to be a Pharmacy Technician at South Suburban Community College.

Adrian Solis, Plainfield, Illinois. He is attending Southern Illinois University.

David Stewart, Stoddard, Wisconsin. He is studying Horticulture at Western Technical College.

Collin O’Brien Wynn,  Wentzville, Missouri. He is studying Communications at the University of Missouri-Saint Louis.

2017 scholarship applications will be available soon!

Donate Now

Comments (1)

Leave a Reply

<< View More

Get the Latest NF News & Updates

Sign up for our blog and always be up-to-date with Neurofibromatosis

Visit Us
Follow Me