42 Years of Care and Ensuring No One Fights Alone!

August 30th is National Grief Awareness Day

August 30th is National Grief Awareness Day. National Grief Awareness Day was founded by Angie Cartwright in 2014 to normalize grief and educate people on the process. Psychiatrist and researcher Elizabeth Kübler-Ross states that there are five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Over time shock, disbelief, and reconstruction have been added to the list of stages. Grief is individualized, and those in the grieving process may go through different stages of grief at different paces. It’s crucial for individuals who are experiencing grief to have the necessary support and resources available to them. Those grieving can get help by utilizing resources such as the 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline. This hotline is for anyone who needs emotional assistance. Many local hospice centers also offer support groups. The United Way can also be a wonderful resource to find online and in person support. In addition to speaking to someone about feelings of grief there are several activities that can help manage the grief process such as journaling, yoga, cuddling with a pet. For a longer list of activities check here.

Leave a Reply

<< View More

Get the Latest NF News & Updates

Sign up for our blog and always be up-to-date with Neurofibromatosis

Visit Us
Follow Me